Just getting started questions

Complete newbie just starting out, with a couple of questions, I have scanned the forums and cant see any solutions, please help.

1. create a field in a table of type TEXT or AUTO, enter in a long number of 20 characters or above i.e. 12345687901234567890 and it display in the cell as : 1.23456E+19 , but in the data entry field above as the number I entered. I wont be doing maths on this field, so simple text should work ?

EDIT - I have just noticed it also corrupts the number in the data entry box replacing the 5 digits with zeros

I recognise the reformatted number as a mathematical representation of the data I entered , but why is it doing this in a text field and how do I make it displkay as entered ?

1. Runnig my app on an Iphone , it is not swinging into landscape mode when I swin g the phone over.
    Is this a setting somewhere stopping this?

2. If I log into twice as different users and update the same record by one user displaying the record and update some fields but not press done while the other user picks up the same record and updates I can easily get in a situation where one user is loosing data. Another situation is using the method of obtaining the next number on a control table and updating it when done - in a multi user situation numbers can get out of sequence.
    Is there a formal record locking strategy to stop this forcing a "record in use by another user - please wait" I can use , or some other method I have missed?

3. When using lists, is there a method to prompt for Next Page / Previous Page / Start / End when displaying long lists - instead of the list simply running on with no awareness of screen depth ?
    In use on a mobile device especially I can see this getting tedious to use.

4. are UK dd/mm/yyyy dates possible as a standard format ?

Thanks in advance

1. ... so simple text should work ?

I'm not following, what are you trying to get to work?

1. Is this a setting somewhere stopping this?