Sharing workbooks and apps is the driving force behind Honeycode collaboration and use. Sharing workbooks with team members provides the means to jointly build meaningful apps. Sharing your apps gives access to users to view and input data without needing access to the underlying workbooks, allowing for high levels of personalization and control over visibility of sensitive information.
Honeycode users can have the ability to request access to apps when the app link is shared with them. Workbook owners control who, if anyone, can request access on an app-by-app basis, plus they manage granting or denying requests for access.
In My Drive, you can see all your workbooks and apps. You can search by keyword and filter by asset type or access.
What you can do in workbooks and apps depends on your access. We currently support three access levels for workbooks and apps:
- Workbook owner
- Workbook collaborator
- App user
Workbook owners and collaborators will have access to the workbook and all apps, while app users will only have access to the apps shared with them. If you create a workbook, we assign you workbook owner access by default. You can also give other teammates owner access, or change your own access level as well.
With owner access you can:
- Create workbooks, invite new team members, and share the workbook or apps
- Create and edit tables, apps, and automations in the workbook
- Manage team member access levels to the workbook and apps
- Remove team member access from the workbook and apps
- Delete the workbook and apps
**Please note that there must be at least one owner for a workbook. When you share a workbook, all apps within it are automatically shared to teammates with access to the workbook.
With workbook collaborator access you can:
- Share the workbook and apps with current team members
- Create and edit tables, apps, and automations in the workbook
- Manage other workbook collaborators access to the workbook
- Remove workbook collaborators and app users
- Manage app users access to an app
With app user access you can:
- Use all apps shared with you
- Share these apps with other team members
Keep in mind, access levels are different than team roles. Further details about how teams work in Honeycode are available in our Adding Team Members article.
Anyone with an Amazon Honeycode account can create a workbook, build apps, and share with their team. However, you must be teammates to share your workbooks and apps. Honeycode makes it easy for any team member with invite permissions to invite new team members while sharing a workbook or app.
If you want to share with someone not yet on your team, type their complete email address. Honeycode will offer to invite this person to join your team.
When sharing a workbook, choose what access level each current contact should have - workbook owner or workbook collaborator. Workbook owners can change access levels at any time. Remember, when you grant workbook-level access to a teammate, they will also have access to all underlying apps.
When sharing an app, new invitations are sent to users who are not currently on your team. These users will automatically be granted App user role and have no access to the underlying workbook. These invitations expire after 14 days. If the invitation has not been accepted in that time, you can resend it from the Teams page. Our Adding Team Members article provides more details on teams.
- Invite & Share is only available to team admins and team members with invite permissions whose teams are not using Single Sign-On (SSO).
- Today you cannot grant anyone public access to apps, so you must make them a team member.
Sharing apps and workbooks can be done in the following areas of Honeycode:
- In MyDrive you can invite & share any workbooks and apps
- In Tables you can invite & share your current workbook
- In Builder you can invite & share your app or, use the pull-down to share your workbook, which includes any apps in the workbook (steps outlined below)
- In Builder, when pre-viewing an app in browser, you can invite & share your app
- In App, whether in browser or on mobile, you can invite & share the app.
Builder tip: The below steps assume you have already build an app.
- From within your workbook, click into Builder.
- Click View app in the upper right corner of Builder.
Check out your live Web app and try out its features!
- To invite & share an app from within the Web runtime preview, click Share in the upper right corner.
- Or, to invite & share the workbook and all underlying apps, click back to Builder and click Share in the upper right corner. Here you can choose the share just the app or the workbook and all underlying apps.
Sharing an app with an existing and a new team member
- Type the name or email address with whom you want share.
Builder tip: Begin typing the name or email address of your current team member to share the asset. Admins and members with invite permissions can share a workbook and/or app with people who have not previously been members of your team by typing their complete email address.
- If sharing a workbook, choose the new team member's role - either Owner or Collaborator.
When adding new a team member, Honeycode will remind you that continuing to share will automatically invite the person to be a member of your team.
- Click Update.
Honeycode will send an email invitation to the new contact, inviting them to sign-up for Honeycode and join your team. The invitation is valid for 14 days. Once they've created an account using the invite email address a confirmation email will be sent to validate their email. Once validated, they are brought into Honeycode where your pending team invitation can be accepted.
Honeycode users often share an app link with people who do not have access to the app. Honeycode allows workbook owners to control whether user can proactively request access to their apps.
The default experience depends on whether your team uses SSO or not.
- Request access is available anyone with the app link for teams not using SSO.
- Request access is restricted to members of teams who use SSO.
Admins can turn off the request access feature on an app-by-app basis. See below for details.
Workbook owners can toggle the request access feature on or off in the individual Share modal within Honeycode. Workbook owners will only see the Advanced Settings for apps, and not workbooks.
Note: When turned on, team members can request access only to the app; they cannot request access to the workbook. Also, you must be an owner of the workbook to see this advanced setting.
- In My Drive, select the Share button to the right of the app details.
- Expand Advanced Settings in the Share app screen. See image below.
- Select who can request access to the app:
a. Standard teams can choose from: Anyone (on by default), Only team members, or No one.
b. SSO teams can choose from: Only team members (on by default) or No one.
- Select Update.
Workbooks owners are notified of pending access requests in Honeycode’s notification pane.
- In Honeycode’s left navigation pane, select the notification icon which notes the number of notifications available to review.
- Select the Requests tab.
- Honeycode notes the app name, who is requesting access and in which workbook the app resides.
- Finally, select either Approve or Decline. If approved, the requestor will receive an email notification that access was successfully granted. If declined, the requestor receives no notifications. They have the option to request access up to 3 times in a 60-day period.
See our Adding Team Members article for further details for working with teams in Honeycode and the available team roles.
|Was this article helpful?|